Personal Utopia

Shore

I’ve walked the streets of decades decadent,

While idyllic wonder on me bequeath,

Spied angst upon faces, lady and gent,

But felt an intimate joy underneath.

.

I’ve walked with the destitute of our world,

Small children’s feet stained with the dirt of life,

Yet seen the sun on their faces unfurled,

As they laughed through many a starless strife.

.

I’ve walked to the edge of the cliff and stared,

Down at a world of ephemeral kind,

The bittersweet breeze caught me unprepared,

As greatness tickled the back of my mind.

.

For every man or woman’s paradise,

Lies not in front, but behind their two eyes.

Leave a Reply

